Mozambique Inhambane

The Census of 2007 revealed that the province of Inhambane had a resident population of 1,271,818. 

This was spread over an area measuring approximately 68,775 km² and resulted in a density rate of roughly 18.49 inhabitants per square kilometer. 

The province of Inhambane is divided into the following districts

The province of Inhambane is divided into 14 districts

  1. funhalouro
  2. Govuro
  3. Homoine
  4. inhambane
  5. inharrime
  6. Inhassoro
  7. jangamo
  8. mallet
  9. massinga
  10. gherkin
  11. Morrumbene
  12. Panda
  13. Villanculos
  14. Zavala

Brief description

It lies in the south of the country, on the coast of the Indian Ocean, and borders with Gaza Province to the west, Sofala Province to the northwest, Manica Province to the northeast and with Zimbabwe to the southwest. The capital is Inhambane city. 

The geography of Inhambane Province is varied. In the north, the province is hilly, while in the south it is mostly flat. The coast is sandy, with coral reefs offshore. There are several rivers in the province, including the Inhambane River, which flows into the Indian Ocean.

The climate of Inhambane Province is tropical, with a rainy season from October to March. Inhambane Province has a population of 1,261,073 (2007 census). The main ethnic groups are the Makua, the Tsonga and the Shangaan. The main languages spoken in the province are Portuguese, Makua and Tsonga. 

The economy of Inhambane Province is based on agriculture, fishing and tourism. The main crops grown in the province are cassava, maize and coconut. Fishing is also an important economic activity. Tourism is a growing sector, with the beaches and Islands of the province being popular tourist destinations.