Mozambique borders

Location and boundaries of Mozambique

Mozamqbiue location in southern Africa
Mozamqbiue location in southern Africa

Mozambique is located in southeastern Africa, bordered by Tanzania to the north, Malawi, Zambia, and Zimbabwe to the west, South Africa and Eswatini to the south, and the Indian Ocean to the east. The country has a total area of approximately 799,380 square kilometers, making it the 35th largest country in the world.

Mozambique's northern border with Tanzania is approximately 756 kilometers long, while its western border with Malawi is approximately 1,569 kilometers long. The country's western border with Zambia is approximately 419 kilometers long, while its western border with Zimbabwe is approximately 1,231 kilometers long. Mozambique's southern border with South Africa is approximately 491 kilometers long, while its southeastern border with Eswatini is approximately 105 kilometers long.

The country's eastern coast is approximately 2,470 kilometers long and is bordered by the Indian Ocean. Mozambique's coastline includes several important ports, including the Port of Beira, the Port of Nacala, and the Port of Maputo, which are key gateways for trade and commerce in the region.

Mozambique shares borders with six other nations:

  • Tanzania to the north,
  • Malawi and Zambia to the northwest,
  • Zimbabwe to the west
  • Eswatini (Swaziland) and South Africa to the southwest.