Mozambique Visa

Mozambique Entry Visas 

Entry visas for the Republic of Mozambique can be obtained from Mozambican diplomatic missions and consular offices abroad, designated border posts, immigration services, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation. Entry visas may be individual or collective, single or multiple entry, and come in various types including diplomatic, courtesy, official, residence, tourist, transit, visitor, business, and student visas.

For entry into the national territory, one of the following documents is required:

a)  A valid passport or equivalent document for the country and an entry visa issued by competent Mozambican authorities, also valid; 

b) Other documents established in conventions or international agreements to which Mozambique is a party. 

Visa waiver agreements 

Countries with which Mozambique has signed visa waiver agreements:

  1. Visa Exemption for All Types of Passports: South Africa, Botswana, Malawi, Mauritius, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Travelling to Mozambique

To facilitate your travel to Mozambique, please consider the following additional information:

Visa Application Process:

Before departure, you are advised to seek a Visa from the nearest Mozambican Embassy or Consulate in your country. This preventative step can help ensure a smoother entry upon arrival. Entry visas for the Republic of Mozambique can be acquired from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Mozambican diplomatic missions and consular posts abroad, migration services, and authorized border posts. 

Should you be unable to secure a visa in advance, it's important to know that certain nationalities may acquire visas upon arrival at designated border posts, including main airports like Maputo International Airport.

Types of Visas:

Mozambique offers different types of visas catering to varied travel needs, including:

- Tourist Visa: For those wishing to explore Mozambique's beauty or visit family and friends.

- Business Visa: For individuals who plan to engage in business-related activities.

- Visa for Diplomatic or Official purposes: For government or international organization officials.

- Residence Visa: For those intending to reside in Mozambique for extended periods.

- Student Visa: For academic purposes or studying in Mozambican institutions.

Visa Exemption:

Citizens from certain countries, including members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), may not require a visa to enter Mozambique for short stays. However, the conditions can change, and it's always best to check the latest visa requirements well ahead of your planned travel date.

When Entering Mozambique:

Upon entry, be prepared to present your passport (must be valid for at least six months beyond your stay) along with the appropriate visa to immigration officials. Carrying a return ticket, proof of accommodation, and sufficient funds for the duration of your stay will facilitate your entry process.

Import of products for personal use

Travelers entering Mozambique may import the following products for personal use, free of any taxes or fees: A quantity of either 400 cigarettes, 100 cigarillos, 50 cigars or 250g of tobacco, along with 1 liter of spirits and 2.25 liters of wine, 50ml of perfume, or 250ml of eau de cologne. Other items are permitted up to a total value of US$200. It is important to note that the import of tobacco products and alcoholic beverages by individuals under the age of 18 is not allowed.

Prohibited items include narcotics and pornographic materials. Other items such as firearms require a permit.

Foreign currency 

Foreign currency exceeding the amount of US$5,000 or equivalent in cash must be declared at customs

Officially designated border posts 

Entry into the country must be through officially designated border posts, where foreign nationals are subject to immigration procedures by the relevant authorities, among other legal requirements. 

These are the designated border posts where a Border Visa can be granted for entry into Mozambique.

Border Visa Issuance Authorized Posts:

1. City of Maputo:

- Maputo International Airport Crossing Post

2. Maputo Province:

- Ressano Garcia Crossing Post

- Namaacha Crossing Post

- Ponta de Ouro Crossing Post

- Goba Crossing Post

3. Gaza Province:

- Chicualacuala Crossing Post

- Giryondo Crossing Post

- Pafuri Crossing Post

4. Inhambane Province:

- Vilanculos Aerodrome Crossing Post

- Inhambane Aerodrome Crossing Post

5. Sofala Province:

- Beira International Airport Crossing Post

6. Manica Province:

- Machipanda Crossing Post

- Espungabera Crossing Post

- Chimoio Aerodrome Crossing Post

7. Tete Province:

- Tete City Aerodrome Crossing Post

- Cuchamano Crossing Post

- Cassacatiza Crossing Post

- Calomue Crossing Post

- Songo Aerodrome Crossing Post

- Zobwé Crossing Post

8. Zambezia Province:

- Quelimane Aerodrome Crossing Post

- Melosa Crossing Post

9. Nampula Province:

- Nampula International Airport Crossing Post

10. Niassa Province:

- Mandimba Crossing Post

- Lichinga Aerodrome Crossing Post

11. Cabo Delgado Province:

- Pemba Aerodrome Crossing Post

- Mocimboa da Praia Aerodrome Crossing Post