Where is Maputo ?

Maputo-  the capital of Mozambique
Maputo- the capital of Mozambique

Maputo, as the capital city of Mozambique, is situated in the southeastern part of the African continent. It is strategically located at the southern edge of the country, along the coast of the Indian Ocean. 

Mozambique is bordered by six countries: to the north by Tanzania, to the northwest by Malawi and Zambia, to the west by Zimbabwe, to the southwest by Eswatini (formerly known as Swaziland), and to the south by South Africa.

The proximity of Maputo to other key cities in the region underlines its significance as a vital hub for travel and commerce in southeastern Africa. Here are some distances from Maputo to other African capitals and prominent cities in the region:

  • Johannesburg, South Africa: Approximately 541 kilometers (336 miles) to the west of Maputo, which is an estimated 7 to 8-hour drive.
  • Pretoria, South Africa (the administrative capital): Roughly 556 kilometers (345 miles) to the west, with a driving time of about 7 to 8 hours.
  • Gaborone, Botswana: Approximately 908 kilometers (564 miles) to the west, usually requiring around a 12 to 13-hour drive.
  • Harare, Zimbabwe: About 1,039 kilometers (645 miles) to the northwest of Maputo, generally an estimated 13 to 15-hour journey by road.
  • Lilongwe, Malawi: Located approximately 1,470 kilometers (913 miles) to the north-northwest, it typically takes around 20 hours to travel by car.
  • Durban, South Africa: Roughly 762 kilometers (473 miles) to the south, which is typically a drive of about 10 to 11 hours.
  • Mbabane, Eswatini: Situated around 184 kilometers (114 miles) to the southwest, with a drive time of about 2.5 to 3 hours.